Home

What exactly does this mean? Where do we start?

Well, I think we start my acknowledging two important Bible verses::
1. John 20:21: As the Father has sent Me, I also send you. This tells us that our mission as the church is to join The Father on His mission. It is not to have our own mission and continue in our own ways. Our vision for our church or ministry should have His mission at it’s core.

2. Ephesians 4:11 – And He Himself gave some to be apostles, some prophets, some evangelists, and some pastors and teachers, for the equipping of the saints for the work of ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ. One thing I learnt very early on in my own ministry is that leadership isn’t about my dynamic personality, my trendy clothes or making sure our church has the coolest graphics, cutting edge ambiance, or powerful music. Leadership is about how I train people so that they are living their lives on His mission, building His church.

Now, these two verse hold some very important principles when we apply them to leading a local church. Here are some points that I have been working on for the last 7 years and am passionate to see mature in my own leadership and in the leadership of my leadership team:

  • Missional Leadership is turning every member into a missionary
    • It is not for me to ministry to everyone, but for everyone to minster to each other. It is not for me to only preach and declare Christ, but I must lead every member to a place of understanding whereby they realise that Missionary Christianity is real Christianity and anything less is fake. Now this, of course, doesn’t mean that I will be seeking to send every member overseas! What it means is that I must bring people to understand that “church” refers to a group of people rather than a building. A group of people who are called to represent Christ and to be on His mission. We do not GO TO church, we ARE church. It’s a partnership with God to represent His will and His purposes in this place.
  • Missional Leadership is an opportunity to let egocentrism give way to Jesuscentrism
    • Since the mission is The Father’s through the Son, the focus of attention should be Him and not me. It also means that His mission is carried out how He sees fit. God’s methods are men. Therefore my part in His mission is to train men for mission. Ed Stetzer would say that it’s “not about Me about about We”. We haven’t been called to mission so that we can become someone but we have been called to mission so that we can proclaim Someone.
  • Missional Leadership is replacing power for empowerment
    • 1 Peter 4:1 – As each one has received a gift, minister it to one another, as good stewards of the manifold grace of God. The church isn’t a body for me to wield power over but a place whereby power is distributed for the name and fame of Christ.
  • Missional Leadership is emphasizing the Kingdom over the Church.
    • If we lead people of mission then it has to be about the Kingdom of God rather than the church. This isn’t to say that the church isn’t important, of course it is vital. What I am saying, however, is that the scope of the mission isn’t confined to the church. This means I need to be praying about raising leaders who can be sent out to different cities to plant new works. It might even mean that I raise up leaders to plant churches in our own city! Many would hesitate to do this because of “competition” but there are no territories, no borders in the Kingdom! If another (good) church finds it has more members because of my churches actions that God be praised.
Leave a Reply

