Home

This is a testimony of former Toronto Vineyard Pastor Paul Gowdy:

It has taken me nine years to actually come to the place where I would write this story. Part of the reason was because I was not fully convinced that it is appropriate to speak out against weaknesses in the body of Christ publicly. Another reason is because it has taken years of soul searching to become convinced that what happened in the Toronto Airport Church was actually all bad or at least more bad than good!

For the past number of years I have called it a mixed blessing. I think James A. Beverly called it this in his book Holy Laughter and the Toronto Blessing 1994. Today I would call it a mixed curse concluding that any individual good that came from this experience is far outweighed by much harm and satanic deception. I suppose that therein has been my dilemma. I have tried to live my life in the
fear of the Lord and Jesus told us that the unforgivable sin was the blasphemy of the Holy Spirit. Attributing to Satan what was in fact a work of God. If pressed as to whether or not the Toronto blessing is all God or all Devil I will still be hedgy, but I am convinced that Satan has used this experience to blind people to the historical doctrines of God, to produce fruit in keeping with repentance, to failing to test and discern the spirits and failing to test prophecy.

After three years of being in the thick of the Toronto blessing our Vineyard assembly in Scarborough ( East Toronto) just about self destructed. We devoured one another, with gossip, backstabbing, division, sects criticism etc. After three years of ‘soaking,’ praying for people, shaking, rolling, laughing, roaring, ministering at TACF on their prayer team, leading worship at TACF, preaching at TACF, basically living at TACF we were the most carnal, immature and deceived Christians that I know. I remember saying to my friend and senior pastor at Scarborough Vineyard Church in 1997 that ever since the Toronto Blessing came we have just about fallen to bits! He agreed!

My experience has been that the manifestation of spiritual gifts mentioned in 1st Corinthians 12 was much more common in our assembly before January 1994 (when the Toronto blessing started) than during this period of supposed Holy Spirit visitation.

During 1992-1993 when praying for people we would experience what I believe was genuine prophesy, deliverance and much grace and favour from the Lord. After the Toronto Blessing started, all ministry time changed, the only prayers were ‘More Lord MORE’, the shouting of ‘Fire’ the jerky shaking of the body with the ‘ooh ooh OOH WOOOAAH’ prayer. (I kid you not!)

On January 20th 1994 about 15 people from our church traveled over to Toronto Airport Vineyard in order to listen to Randy Clark, a Vineyard pastor from the USA. John Arnott had called our senior pastor to invite us. He communicated that Randy had been to the Rodney Howard Browne meetings and that the stuff had broke out in his church in the following weeks. John was hoping that something might break out with us too. We were only too happy to travel over. We were a church plant out of the Toronto Airport and we started in 1992. In those days there were three Vineyard Churches in Toronto. One Down Town church, Scarborough vineyard church to the east and the Airport Church. We were one big happy family. Because we were small in number we did special meetings, conferences etc, together.

The year before most of our leadership teams joined and had headed to Nicaragua for a short term missions trip. We had genuine love and fellowship with each other. Since leaving the Vineyard churches I have read a fair bit of analysis from the critics. Some make out that the Toronto Blessing was one huge conspiracy to lead the body of Christ into heresy. Heresy and apostasy I suspect may well be the result, but none of these destinations were intentional. I am honestly convinced that the leaders in the Vineyard churches are genuine born-again Christians who love the Lord, but have fallen into deception.

They have not loved the Lord enough to keep His commandments. They have failed to obey the scriptures and have been led astray by our longing for something bigger and brighter and more exciting and dynamic. I am guilty of this sin also. I have preached renewal in Korea, the United Kingdom, the USA and here in Canada. I am genuinely repentant and in writing this story I would ask you the bride and body of Christ to forgive me. Especially the Pentecostal/Charismatic Christians among you, for you are my immediate family theologically.

I am an evangelical Christian, I always have been but I do not believe in the cessation of the spiritual gifts at the end of the apostolic era. I believe that it was my evangelical roots (my family are Baptists and I was born again in the Presbyterian Church.) that started to open my eyes to problems with this so called renewal. In hind sight I look back and think how could I have been so blind? I laughed at people acting like dogs and pretending to urinate on the columns of the TACF building. I watched people pretend to be animals, bark, roar, cluck, pretend to fly as if they had wings, perpetually act drunk and sing silly songs. How I thought that any of this was from the Holy Spirit of God amazes me today. It was loud irreverent and blasphemous to the Holy God of the Bible.

I suppose in my mind I reasoned that as long as they did not teach any thing in direct violation to scripture then it was what we called the exotic. This is a buzz word for manifestations that could not be justified from a biblical perspective. I was taught from the pulpit that we had two options. The order of the nursery full of life and messy or the order of the graveyard, very orderly but dead! As a young immature pastor I wanted life with mess.

I failed to remember that God wants us to become mature and grow up in him. I became disconcerted by the prophetic words that came forth especially one by Carol Arnott in which she had her bride experience where she was taken into the very presence of Jesus and said that the love that she experienced was even better than sex! I was shocked in my spirit and thought how can one compare the love of God with sex? When we suspected that demons were running riot in our services John Arnott would teach that we should ask are they coming or going. If they are leaving then that is ok! John would defend the chaos by saying that we ought not be afraid of being deceived, if we have
asked the Holy Spirit to come and fill us then how could Satan come and deceive us? This would make Satan very strong and God very weak! He said that we needed to have more faith in a Big God to protect us than in a Big Devil to deceive us.

This sounded very convincing but was totally contrary to scripture for Jesus and Paul and Peter and John all warn us about the power of deceiving spirits and especially so in the last days. Again we did not love God enough to obey His Word and the result was that we opened ourselves up to lying spirits. May God have mercy upon us!

Finally the penny dropped for me as I was rolling around one night ‘drunk in the Spirit’ as we would say. I started singing and as I rolled around the floor the Nursery Rhyme ‘Mary had a little lamb its fleece was white as snow.’ came to mind. I sang this in a mocking spirit and instantly my heart told me this was a demon. Instantly I repented and was in total shock. How could a demon get into me? Did I not love God? Was I not zealous for the things of God? Was I not nuts about Jesus? I knew that an unclean spirit had just manifested through me and I was guilty of great sin. After this experience I stayed away from TACF. I did not go back there any more. I did not possess the conviction to denounce the whole experience but thought that we where failing to pastor the Blessing well enough.

Even after I stopped going over to TACF, I had to pastor the fruit of it. One example was when some of our people returned from a meeting there asking us if we had all received the golden sword of the Lord? I asked them what they were talking about thinking that it was some prophetic reference to the Holy Scriptures but they said, ‘no, it’s not the Bible, it’s an invisible golden sword that only the really pure can receive. If taken in an unrighteous fashion then the Lord would kill you. But if you are holy enough to receive it then you can wield this sword and it will heal AIDS, Cancer etc. and bring salvation. How one wielded this sword was by pretending to have this invisible sword in your hand and motioning to strike people with it when in prayer! I thought while even in deception at this time that the TACF had become Looney bins! This was purportedly first received by Carol Arnott and then given
to the ones holy enough to receive it! Another thing was the golden fillings in the teeth. We had people in our assembly peeping down one another’s throats looking for the gold fillings that God had placed there to show how much he loved them! In all my time there I only heard one message on repentance given by a visiting speaker from Hong Kong named Jackie Pullinger. It went over like a lead balloon. We were not there to repent, we were there to party in the Lord! After one year into the blessing I
spoke out at a pastors meeting and said ‘guys we have shaken, rattled, rolled, laughed cried and bought the tee-shirt. But we have no revival, no salvation, no fruit and no increased evangelism so what’s the deal?’ I was soundly rebuked – who was I to expect to see fruit when the Lord was healing his broken people? We had been legalistic long enough and God was spending this time restoring his wounded and freeing us from legalism I was told not to push the Lord and the harvest would come in his time.’

I knew this was wrong because the Lord had commanded us to go into all the earth and make disciples! Not that everyone should take a sabbatical for who knows how long, while God does some strange new thing! Ultimately I left over something as controversial as the ordination of women. Personally I believe from scripture that women should not be pastors/elders in a local assembly. I could be wrong on this and there is much debate in the Church today but that is my conviction and in the Vineyard churches they were ordaining all the pastors’ wives to co pastor with them. I am certainly for women in ministry but believe that the Elder/pastor role in a local assembly has been reserved for men. I did not write scripture but God willing I will have the grace from now on to obey it.

So there is my story. I could go on and document much excess, folly, sin and latter day reign teaching that manifest from the prophetic end of this Blessing but others have already done that. We sang about Joel’s army and the billion soul revival as if it were one of the Ten Commandments, and as always it was just around the corner. Next month, next year etc. Jesus said that when the son of man returns will he find faith upon the earth? And if he does not return when he does no flesh would be saved but for the sake of the elect he comes. This is a far cry from the dominionism that is being taught all through the vineyard/prophetic/ spiritual warfare movement. I honestly think that they think they are going to take over the whole world! While in the Vineyard I embraced a life verse from the Apostle Paul the phrase do not go beyond what is written!

To finish I just want to say sorry for the damage, that I have personally done by teaching things that are not correct biblically. I repent before men as I already have before God. I will not excuse my falling into deception. I did not bother to test things when the scriptures commanded us to do so. Everyone who was there when this thing started knows that what I write is true, they would just come to different conclusions especially if they are still promoting the ‘river!’

To those in the river I would say swim out, there are things living in the water that will bite you real good! I love the people of TACF and the Vineyard movement but I think that we have much to answer for and may the Lord open your eyes sooner rather than later. I suspect that when this letter goes online I will get bombarded by emails from both camps, some damning me for still believing in
the ministry of the Holy Spirit and still walking in deception and some old friends damning me for exposing dirt or being negative about the Lords anointed! Well, the Lord knows my heart and by his grace he will guide me into all truth as I seek to know Christ and him crucified! If you believe that I walk in sin and error please pray for me that the Lord would forgive me and open my eyes.

I will study the word to show my self a work man approved! I would call on all who read this to pray that the Lord would open the eyes of all who have been involved in this deception. Whether leader or follower, we are loved and the Lord is a forgiving God. He says if we confess our sins he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. I believe we are like the church in Laodicea, we think that we are rich, have prospered and need nothing, we do not realise that we are wretched, pitiable, poor, blind and naked. We must take the Counsel of Jesus and buy gold refined in the fire (which is his suffering, not a false spirit!), white garments to clothe our shameful nakedness and salve for our eyes that we might see again. Jesus is calling us to repentance and thank the Lord that he is, for it will lead us to true restoration with our Father! If God has forgiven me and opened my eyes then he can do it for all those caught in deception too. I will finish with a warning from Paul, he says if you think you are standing firm be careful lest you fall.

Sincerely Paul Gowdy.

18 thoughts on “Toronto Pastor Speaks on Deception

  1. Pingback: Pastor Shares His Experience With “Toronto Blessing” « Scotteriology

  2. Amazing post Paul. I was raised in the Vineyard, parents were pastors of a Vineyard, I experienced “the blessing” and I think you summarized it very well. I really appreciate your perspective and truth you brought.

  3. I am passing this on! Thank you for the post!

    Meanwhile, please see “A Call for Discernment” by going to http://www.justinpeters.org. Justin is an evangelist and in addition to expository preaching, also holds seminars on the “Word of Faith” movement. He has cerebral palsy and concurs with the apostle Paul, “My grace is sufficient for thee.”

    You can view his brief overview of the misleading Word of Faith movement given at Southwestern Theological Seminary here:

    http://www.justinpeters.org/demo.htm

    To God be the glory!

    Caron
    Los Angeles

  4. Pingback: Sheep Walking « Wolf Tracks

  5. Pingback: Todd Bentley - Fresh Fire Ministries - exporting extremism from Canada at Bene Diction Blogs On

  6. Pingback: A Couple Links « profundus ignarus

  7. I have been a charismatic for 26 years, was ‘neutral’ (at best) on Toronto, which my church pretty thorougly embraced. Lakeland has led me to firm up my position that this whole ‘new prophets’ movement is heretical and dangerous. Those of us charismatics who are interested in keeping the gospel and the cross central (and there are many of us!) must continue to speak out, and rescue the sheep from deception. Many churches (including charismatic ones) are standing for truth and not ‘drinking the kool aid’.

    “Soverign Grace Ministries” churches, for example, while I have not seen an explicit denunciation of Lakeland/Toronto, are “keeping the main thing, the main thing”.

    Thanks for this post!

  8. what a wonderful God of Grace we serve. Thanks for a balanced a truthful and loving and merciful perspective on Toronto. The excuse so often thrown up is ” well many got saved” but those of us whp pastor deal time and again with loss of faith and disappointment of those who went in.

    Great job Paul

  9. i am not a regular member here, and came by folowing links on bentley.
    i wanted to express myself, so i joined in order to be able to post this.
    yes, we are to forgive a brother 7×70.

    but i want to tell you at the same time that had you and others not taken so long to get on your knees about this, alot of innocent christians (new ones and the babes of all kinds) would have been spared this deplorable satanic business.

    i have sen many youtube videos and websites galore with people “apologizing” for their part in this mess. why did it take so long?

    here’s my story:
    after being drawn to the Cross, i spent 2 1/2 years of personal, disciplined study.

    i had no church history as i came from a family of agnostics and had no friends or family that identified themselves as believers. i tried to find a church, but quickly gave up since in my ignorance i thought if it and a steeple it was christian.

    i went from mormom church to pentecostal to 7th day adventist, etc etc. fortunately i knew these were not for me. i did the work and learned who was who and what was what. my first experience with false teaching was when a preacher asked who believed in “THE RAPTURE”.

    naturally, i had found no such thing in my studies, and learned quicly what the heresy was. pretty scary. i realized this was indeed going to be a rough ride.

    nevertheless, in spite of the disappointment and discourgament , i was thrilled and excited and hungry and thirsty for the Word, the story of My God. so i continued on my own.

    then someone suggested a little “non-denominal” church where they didn’ “judge”, etc etc etc.

    so off i went…3 sundays, then a bible study in someone’s home. that night a guy said “the Holy Spirit is here!” i immediately wondered what he meant since i knew the Holy Spirit indwells the beliver, and is naturally “there”.

    but, as people go up to receive “a healing” etc etc, i saw a lot of action. i went forward also….i didn’t know any better. but the moment they “laid hands on” me, i was PARALYZED. frozen in position like the catholic girls at fatima. then i saw swirling gold and silver etc etc ad nausem.

    the others were rolling arond and so on. it was strange, but as i left, i felt elated. my companion said i was “drunk in the spirit”.

    for 2 weeks was overwhelmed with fleshly manifestations (though being a bay christian i didn’t now about that). i in turn showed an unbeliver the “thing” i could do. i put my hand on her shouldr, like they had done to me. and the lady was swaying and ready to tip over.

    after 4 weeks, noticed that I HAD NOT READ MY BIBLE ONCE IN 4 WEEKS. it was shocking since i had studied every day all day. not only had i not read my bible, i felt almost afriad of it.

    it was only then in my confusion i began to research this, and to pray to God. i came acros a book called War on The Saints. i was DEVASTATED. how could this have happened? how could i have been deceived? how could this thing have been in my home with me, everywhere i went.

    i began then to lay a fleece out to God…i did it silently since i knew now that demons were very real. after 3 days, i had the answer. THIS WAS NOT FROM GOD.

    i urned my shame and fear into anger at this thing and began to pray and fast, and through 3 more weeks of this, i had lost 20 pounds, and had been searching and reading ad praying, and i was not only delivered, but i now had a much much greater understanding of satan’s schemes.

    for this i am grateful. but IT WAS A VERY HARD FIGHT.

    i returned to the church to testify that this thing was not of God, but i was not allowed to. i severed my ties with them, but before i did, i was waiting to speak to the pastor and “just happened” to glace at the bookcase, my eye going IMMEDIATEY to a book called The Toronto Blessing. since i had lived in Quebec, and had visitied Toronto a few times, i pulled the book out and began to read it.

    now armed with Penn-Lewis’ War on the Saints, my Bible Study and prayer, i knew what had happened. when i inqired about the book, i was told that this “little non-denominational church” had been born out of the Toronto Blessing.

    DUH.

    as a result, i do not attend any church ad will not. it is not safe, i am not interested in sorting through any more FUNKY DOCTRINE or fasting for weeks to cast off demonic activity.

    no, i have my bible, i have God’s prophesies coming to pass befor my eyes, and all is well. as for revival? forget it. the Word says we are headed for the greatest deception ever know, tribulation beyond measure, and a nearly complete FALLING AWAY.

    for one thing, THERE ARE NO…NONE….ZIPPO…NATTA….ZERO modern day Prophets. we have all the prophets we need (Jeremiah, Isaiah…etc).

    here are some links i am using regularly you all might find cool. mainly i am keeping an eye on the Sanhedrin, and the satanic Noahide Laws.

    the new Pharisees (chabad), and watching as the good and bad figs in jerusalem begin to fulfill some of the most important prophesies in God’s Word.

    the parable of the fig tree unfolding beautifully.

    all this doctrines of devils and so-on are not only extremely dangerous for the false prophet (God hates them), playing church as a baby christian can be very hazardous for your eternal health)….yes, judgment begins at the house of God and many will be hewn down….i shudder to think what will happen to them.

    all the biblical proof we need to know we are going all the way through the tribulation
    http://www.velocity.net/~edju/SaintsWrath.htm

    and this for anyone who has been deceived into looking to the DAUGHTER of the Whore for the son of perdition…Rome/Catholicism is not the Mother of Harlots…she is the daughter.

    Mystery Babylon (Talmudism), Jerusalem are the Mother OF ALL HARLOTS.
    http://shalach.org/Angels/BabylonTheGreat.htm

    and these are the ones we need to watch. Jesus warned us to know about them who say they are jews and are NOT. these Pharisees and their Sanhedrin are ready to roll.
    http://fortheauthor.blogspot.com/2008/01/end-times-watch-noahide-laws-every-knee.html
    http://watch.pair.com/law.html

    course the Talmud and Sanhedrin desise Jesus and His people, so they just happen to have that covered in their Noahide Laws:
    decapitation for Idolators like us.

    Revelation 20:4
    King James Bible
    And I saw thrones, and they sat upon them, and judgment was given unto them: and I saw the souls of them that were beheaded for the witness of Jesus, and for the word of God, and which had not worshipped the beast, neither his image, neither had received his mark upon their foreheads, or in their hands; and they lived and reigned with Christ a thousand years.

    here’s my address, write if you are also interested in these things.
    dylanzone@yahoo.com

  10. Wow. That is great.

    My wife and I have been blessed by a number of people associated with the Vineyard churches. She was led to Christ by a girl from a Vineyard in Calfornia. Once when visiting my hometown of Buffalo, NY, we decided to visit the Toronto Airport Vineyard one Sunday night just to see what all the commotion was about. We left really unsettled by what we saw, heard, experienced – and especially the utter lack of Bible on the night we were there.

    Still, this is the first I’ve heard after all these years that there are those who were on the “inside” who realize that a lot of deception was taking place.

    Thanks for posting this!

    Dave K

  11. Thanks for your testimony.

    One thing worth adding:

    Regarding buying from Him “gold tried in the fire…” (Rev 3:18)

    When Jesus says, “I counsel you to buy from Me”:
    He is talking in a spiritual sense here. We know this because He never speaks of us building up treasures in this life but storing treasures in heaven.

    As long as any people believe they can meet their own spiritual needs with worldly wealth, clothing, or sight in and of ourselves, we can never receive these things from Jesus. We must seek these things from Him instead of relying on them ourselves.

    And when he goes on to say “buy from Me gold refined in the fire”:
    He speaks of receiving the riches that He offers – His “gold” is perfect, unblemished, not to mention eternal life; an abundant life. This is what make us rich and these riches can never be depleted.

    And the “white garments, that you may be clothed”:
    Speaks of receiving a pure, righteous, covering that only Jesus can give, again through faith in Him!

    And the “eye salve”:
    Speaks of receive from Jesus the healing of their spiritual sight.

    Ultimately, even though He says “buy from Me”, we have nothing to pay for these things with in and of ourselves, except for out faith / belief in Him. We all need to repent and ask forgiveness, then abide in Jesus – the Jesus of the Bible, and Him only! Seek the kingdom that He will establish one day, NOT the kingdom that we will build for Him. He never asks us to build or establish His kingdom, only to SEEK it first!
    Praise Jesus, the LORD.

  12. the toronto airport church is not part of the Vineyard movement for the past +10 years

    don’t try to kill what might be Gods work

    remember what Jesus said when the diciples reported those ministring in His name?

    let us diciple people to read there bible and teach them the word of god so they can for themself see what is good.

    in Him Jan

  13. This informative post has propagated all over the internet. Is there any background or contact information regarding Paul Gowdy that would help verify his testimony?

  14. There’s no doubt many Bizarre things happened during the Toronto Blessing… The pastor of our church at the time went nuts (Almost literally) over the event and brought some strangeness back to our church. We left! Now that says a lot having grown up in Pentecostal-Charismatic churches and having seen it all, or so I thought.

    I did attend Vinyard before the Toronto thing but did not notice anything that far out. They always have had tinges of cult-like requirement for obedience to their leaders and a pervasive notion of singular truth that no one else possibly has, but in general are no worse than any other church.

    How is it that the tone here suggests all manifestations of modern supernatural displays of power are of the Devil? I’m not sure that I want a number of fruit cakes dictating how God’s power is portrayed.

    Show me a church, any church, and I will show you all kinds of skeletons in the closet. Any move of God is always mimicked by the demonic. If the conclusions suggest God’s power is as dead as the sky is blue, then I’d say we’ve given Satan too much attention.

    When I first heard about the Lakeland thing I just rolled my eyes and said to myself, “Here we go again”. I was especially disturbed by the appearance of this Todd Bentley dude, his history, and his far out Theology. My discomfort escalated when the pastors of my church, a mainline denomination (AG), were all excited about Lakeland and were going to see first hand!

    But I started watching God.tv and the praise and worship services… My first reaction was, “Oh my God”… These people are high on Meth!… But an old friend I recognized, the Holy Spirit, pricked my heart. I’m thinking to myself, “No-Way can these nuts have the REAL Holy Spirit”. But After having literally seen it all and been to it all from Benny Hinn and Katherine Kuhlman, and dozens of others fakes and genuine, I know and recognize the Holy Spirit. And I have know Him to use real fruity people before to confound those looking for an excuse to disbelieve.

    The God of the Bible I know has never changed the conditions for manifestations of the miraculous from Naaman the Syrian, to the woman with the demon possessed daughter in Matthew 15 that Jesus mentions having found no faith like it in all Israel, to today when the simple faith of a child is the sole condition to receive the miraculous from God.

    I won’t let the unbelief of the many be used as an excuse to justify the apparent lack of credible miracles today, nor will I allow fruitcakes and Greed-mongers portray the miraculous as a hopeless fantasy. I server the God of the Living, the Holy One, The Lord Jesus Christ, who is the same yesterday today and tomorrow, irregardless of circumstance or doctrines of men.

    • Could you please elaborate on having seen it all and been to it all from Benny Hinn to Katherine Kuhlman? What has the Holy Spirit shared into your heart about all these “supernatural” manifestations? I pray for a discerning spirit but am still left confused by it all. My email is simonbaik@yahoo.com

  15. Hi
    Thanks for this. I myself have experienced spiritual abuse while involved with a charismatic church heavily influenced by the kinds of ‘moves of the spirit’ at places like toronto and Lakeland. One of the marks of a church influenced in this way is a lack of concern for the poor, the outcast and the marginalised in our society – the ones Jesus hung out with and had a special place in his heart for. In many charismatic churches it has become about being the holiest, the best, the wealthiest, the cleverest and the most popular – the poor and marginalised get ignored and left out in the cold.
    http://fortheleastofthese.wordpress.com/spiritual-abuse/

    Julie

  16. Thanks be to God for this brothers renewed hope of Salvation because he has repented. God is merciful.
    But let me say what no one seems prepared to say: There is no scriptural basis for considering those unrepentant of Toronto and similar antichrist spirits (that share a common root by the way) as “saved”. It is contradictory to what Jesus taught us by his example and the testemony, “Love delights in the truth and hates evil” and from John, The one that loves Jesus is the one that keeps his teaching, study John 14, its exclusive , its narrow gate time.
    The Lord warned me what was coming before TB arrived here in New Zealand. It left devastation and wounds that are open to this day. many of us were persecuted by our own churches for standing against it in an effort to save the flock from these wolves. The example he provided comes from Isaiah 37. Remember this was given to me before TB came. TB was sent by God but is an antichrist spirit. Its purpose the same as the assyrians, to demonstrate what so called churches were really Gods and which this spirit could simply conquer. But no that this division is finished with, TB and its fruit are going to suffer the assyrians fate because they have arrived at the door of the remenant that survives around the world and thier God, my God who is a plumbline, the WORD hanging straight and true, will rescue what remains because of his covenant and for his names sake. There is nothing in scripture to give unrepentant TB or connected apostacys such as Promise Keepers or Alpha course promoters any comfort (the link to these is well proved these days) that they are not those whom Jesus spoke of in Matthew 7 vs 21- who say they know him and even do supernatural things in his name but are lost, unsaved.

    Brother, do not be deluded. God has not allowed you repentance for nothing. Stop pretending this is enough. Your eyes have been opened and with that comes responsibility. If you imagine these people are “saved but deluded” you wont go to them as those needing Salvation, but you must. They have not just been decieved, the fact they could be showed they did not yet know Jesus else they would not have followed a strangers voice (thats scriptural as well my friend).
    The time has come to get real. The next mission field is among the lost and dying that are right there under church roofs. Take a lesson from the Spirits message to the church at Sardis- wake up, strengthen what remains, but be quick, because my Lord is coming to deal with his house.

    Warwick- New Zealand

Leave a Reply

