Home

Give me a mountain …. where the giants are.

Joshua 11:6 And Caleb the son of Jephunneh the Kenizzite said to him: “You know the word which the Lord said to Moses the man of God concerning you and me in Kadesh Barnea. 7I was forty years old when Moses the servant of the Lord sent me from Kadesh Barnea to spy out the land, and I brought back word to him as it was in my heart. 8Nevertheless my brethren who went up with me made the heart of the people melt, but I wholly followed the Lord my God. Three times the Bible tells us that Caleb followed God with his whole heart 9So Moses swore on that day, saying, ‘Surely the land where your foot has trodden shall be your inheritance and your children’s forever, because you have wholly followed the Lord my God.’ That means – take your pick of the land 10And now, behold, the Lord has kept me alive, as He said, these forty-five years, ever since the Lord spoke this word to Moses while Israel wandered in the wilderness; and now, here I am this day, eighty-five years old. 11As yet I am as strong this day as on the day that Moses sent me; just as my strength was then, so now is my strength for war, both for going out and for coming in.

Caleb was one of the spies that Moses sent in to the Promised Land to see what the land was like. Two came back with a positive report – Caleb and Joshua.

There are some interesting things about Caleb:

  • He wasn’t an Israelite – he was a Kenizzite
  • His name means “dog” (you can’t help but wonder what kind of parents Caleb had that they would name their child this way)
  • He spent the first 40 years of his life as a slave in Egypt
  • He was 85 years old in the text above and this guy is as strong as he was in the beginning

Caleb would see the giants in the land (the same giants with the same names) and he wasn’t afraid of them then and He is not afraid of them now.

When you think about Caleb’s origins and all the things that he had going against him as a child, the fact that he lives out his faith with such passion is amazing. A real example. He is a man who refused to be victimized by his past.

So now in the passage above this hard-nosed warrior comes to Joshua to claim his inheritance. (Remember that Moses had previously told him that he could have the pick of the land – whatever he wanted). I wonder what I would choose given that choice – perhaps the beach front villa or the sun soaked valley.

Check out what this old warrior asks for in verse 12 Now therefore, give me this mountain

“I’m ready for a new challenge – give me a mountain”. And it’s not just any mountain. He continues and says: give me this mountain of which the Lord spoke in that day; for you heard in that day how the Anakim were there, and that the cities were great and fortified. It may be that the Lord will be with me, and I shall be able to drive them out as the Lord said.”

What is Caleb saying? “Give me the mountain where the giants are”

Verse 13: And Joshua blessed him, and gave Hebron to Caleb the son of Jephunneh as an inheritance.

You see that was the thing on Calebs mind was Hebron (where Abrahams, Sarah, Jacob, Isaac are buried). I think think that Caleb associates with Abraham because Abraham was a gentile who the Lord drew out just like he was. But I think there is something more significant here because Hebron means “seat of association” or the “place of fellowship”.

You know, Satan would want to keep us from Hebron – the place of fellowship – and it is no small coincidence that there are giants there because in our walk with the Lord Satan wants to keep us from fellowship and has put giants in our way.

May the Lord give us the strength and passion of Caleb to say “Give me the mountain with the giants”. Give me Hebron! And may the Lord give us the strength to drive out those giants

Leave a Reply

