Home

 Tony Morgan has highlighted 10 Leadership Mistakes that I want to run by you and comment on (they were sent to me via email so I’m not sure of a origin):

  • Hiring Too Fast. Firing Too Slow. Every minute I delay in firing, I take away opportunity for God to work in that person’s life.
I agree in principle but this would mean that it always works like this, that God only works when that person is fired. I think the opposite can also be true: that God can work in a persons life when they are still on staff and being worked on by the pastor. The only time I can see firing to be quick is when the person becomes unable to minister in the position they are in through sexual sin.
  • Putting Projects before the People. Embrace the tension and find the balance between leadership and shepherding.
Absolutely. As God is more interested in the person than the ministry so should Church leaders be.
  • Trying to Fix the Problem Rather than the Process. Ninety percent of the time it isn’t a people-problem. It is a process-problem.

Well, yes unless the process is the person. 🙂

  • Delegating Tasks Instead of Responsibility. It is hard to delegate, because many times I (wrongly) think I’m the only one who can do it right.

Me too! And I think that people are slow to take on responsibilty because they see it as a task as well. I can complain about people not owning ministry areas, and perhaps this is why. Good insight.

  • Assuming it is Always Black and White. Following rules is a lot easier than trying to deal with relationships.

That’s true. We’re called to manage relationships not call when a ball is in or out.

  • Not Following my Gut. When we stop listening to God, he stops talking to us (consider the 13-year gap when God stopped talking to Abraham).

“Col 3:15 – And let the peace of God rule in your hearts”

  • Dwelling on the Worst-Case Scenario. Worry might not be your issue, but everyone has an issue that can derail them.

Worry is my issue. I’m currently sitting here at 12:42am because I have so much on my mind. This strikes a chord. God is bigger than my worry.

  • Waiting Until There’s a Problem to Provide Feedback. I have to discipline myself to encourage my team.

Good advise. I’ll implement that.

  • Staying Busy. It is a lie, but I tend to think if I’m staying busy, I’m adding value to my organization.

I don’t have a choice but to stay busy but I think Tony’s point is that we think that our business adds value. I can see how this can be true.

  • Spending Too Much Time on the Details Rather than the Dreams.

I’m not sure I know what that means but I recall someone once saying “Dream dreams that glorify God”. That has stuck with me for years. I guess the challenge is to ask for dreams to dream that are God’s dreams and not my own selfish dreams.

2 thoughts on “Leadership Mistakes

  1. SamE, I like your comments on each of the principles. One theme I see is that we need to be focused on people. The tasks are only part of the process. God uses them to grow people – and we as pastors need to help people grow

Leave a Reply

