Home

One of goals for this week was to finish Donald Miller’s semi autobiographical work called “Blue Like Jazz”. I have to admit that I am not usually in the slight bit interested in reading about other people’s lives because I have a hard enough time understanding my own and I kinda thought that before delving into the lives of others I should try and figure me out first. So why am I reading it? Purely and solely because I’m a musician and the title does something for me. I like that Donald writes in his notes:

“I never like Jazz music because jazz music never resolves. But I was outside the Bagdad Theater in Portland one night when I saw a man playing a saxophone. I stood there for fifteen minutes, and he never opened his eyes. After that I like jazz music”. (ix)

That’s precisely why I like jazz music! Jazz music, like my life, doesn’t resolve! My understanding of the Lord doesn’t resolve. I can’t get to the answers to the “why’s” of God. Like WHY does He love me like He does? Why does He pour grace on grace like He does? WHY is He so slow to anger like He is? So … I’m saying all that to say that this book has enlightened me to autobigraphical works – even if they are only semi.

anyway, that wasn’t why I’m writing. I wanted to ask you what you thought of this quote:

“A friend of mine, a young pastor who recently started a church, talks to me from time to time about the new face of church in America – about the postmodern church. He says the new church will be different from the old one, that we will be relevant to culture and the human struggle. I don’t think any church has ever been relevant to culture, to the human struggle, unless it believed in Jesus and the power of His gospel. If the supposed new church believes in trendy music and cool Web pages, then it is not relevant to culture either. It is just another tool of Satan to get people to be passionate about nothing”. (p111, Blue Like Jazz)

This  was in the context of belief – has the Christian church resorted to trying to look trendy to the detriment of the gospel? Could Miller be right, that the focus of so many churches on being cool to make Jesus attractive is actually a tool of Satan because all it does is focus on what is cool – and not Jesus?

One thought on “Blue Like Jazz

  1. As long as our tools, webpages, music, etc.. are part of our redeemed worship and not the objects of fallen worship then I think it’s great. I’m a worship leader and web geek, so I am always looking for new things to use to the glory of God. Whether it’s podcasting, twitter, blogs, videos, concerts, whatever. They are all designed to reach as many people as we can and contextualize our outreach while leaving the object of our worship and doctrine intact and unchanging. A tough balance, but one I think we have to strive for.

Leave a Reply

