Home

As you can see from the column on the right, I’m reading “The Supremacy of God in Preaching ” By John Piper. I haven’t read much as I’m taking it slow. It seems as though he has a lot to say and I need to think about what he is saying rather than just read it. Anyway, on my commute home tonight I was thinking about the importance of preaching and how I could sum up the reason I preach. So here’s my effort:

It starts with faith. Hebrews 11:6 states that “without faith it is impossible to please God”. I want to be a God pleaser. I want to be known as a God pleaser but more importantly I want God to be pleased with me. That I approach Him by faith and it is not of myself. “Not of works lest I boast”.

So simply: I please God through faith. Ok, so how do I get this faith? Well Paul wrote that “faith comes by hearing and hearing the Word of God”. Listen to what D.L Moody said about faith: “I prayed for faith and thought that some day it would come down and strike me like lightning. But faith didn’t seem to come. One day I read in Romans that “faith comes by hearing and hearing by the word of God.” I had, up to this time, closed my Bible and prayed for faith. Now I opened my bible and began to study —and faith has been growing ever since.”

 

This is why Paul exhorted Timothy to “Preach the Word” because he desired not that Timothy would be able to expound scripture and fill people with knowledge on an academic level but that people would please God.

 

That’s my summary of “Why preach?” – we preach to please God. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

