Home

1 Peter 1:3 – “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ who according to His abundant mercy has begotten us again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead …”

I’m going through 1 Peter in my devotions and hope to bring you some thoughts as I discover them in my own walk with the Lord. Verse 3 says that God has begotten us again to a living hope.

The term “begotten” simply means to make into children. He has made us into His children. We are no longer children of wrath but children to a living hope. I love that because before I knew Christ I was living a life that had no real hope. The only hope that there was, was according to this world – I might win the lotto, or meet the women of my dreams, get a promotion etc etc but that was all according to a life that will eventually perish. You almost say “so what’s the point?”. Whats the point of living if eventually you are going to die and disappear into nothingness? So Peter says that we are not like that, we don’t have that kind of hope. The hope that we have is a hope that is living. It is a hope that we can enjoy in this life and the next! The hope is Jesus Christ! I can have a meaningful relationship with God NOW … and when I die my life won’t disappear, it will live on with God.

Thats a great hope!

Leave a Reply

