Home

1 Peter 1:3 – “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ who according to His abundant mercy has begotten us again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead …”

I’m going through 1 Peter in my devotions and hope to bring you some thoughts as I discover them in my own walk with the Lord. Verse 3 says that God’s mercy is abundant. What does that mean? Well here are some synonyms for the word abundant: ample, bounteous, bountiful, considerable, copious, enough, exuberant, fertile, fruitful, full, generous, inexhaustible, large, lavish, liberal, luxuriant, many, much, numerous, opulent, overflowing, plenteous, plentiful, profuse, prolific, rank, rich, teeming, thick. I love that! Some of my favourites are the simple ones – God’s mercy is full; God’s mercy is large; God’s mercy is thick.

This is telling me that God’s mercy is more than I need and all that I need. There is enough of his mercy to cover all of my sins, and more besides. Lamentations 3 says that his mercies are new every morning. I guess they need to be because my sins are also new every morning! I’m so grateful to God that He has provided abundant mercy so that I don’t have to be concerned that my sin will be too great for his provision.

One thought on “Abundant mercy

  1. Pingback: A Glorious Inheritance « SamE’s Bible Thoughts

Leave a Reply

