Home

Ok, so i’ve been getting more and more people stopping by reading my blog and I’d like to find out who is who. So, this is a blogroll roll call. Comment on this post and I will add you to by blogroll.*

Also, to make this more interesting & edifying, I want you to include in your comment both your favorite bible verse (assuming you have one) and any other favorite thing (anything … vanilla ice cream with warm maple syrup for example …. mmmm!).

I probably won’t get to respond to all of the comments, but I will read them all.

(* I reserve the right not to include you) ps. thanks charming x

14 thoughts on “Roll call for Blogroll

  1. Ahh – nothing like being the first :). Seems a lot of people are doing this now, and quite a nice way of increasing the hits and getting to know others at the same time. Okay – my fav bible verse would be this one:

    Psa 139:14 I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.

    Wrote a post on it a while back too.

    And one other favourite thing would be my kit (ok, he’s not been a kitten for 8 yrs now LOL) – Tikvah – named after the Israeli national anthem – Ha Tikvah – Hebrew for The Hope (that’s partly where my nickname comes from as I fondly call him Tikki – the “Ro” being the first 2 letters of my name). I handreared him, and he’s become the most wonderful companion for me along with another handreared friend Sophie. Could also include snow, reading, making cards, and the list could reach quite a number, as the Lord continues to bless me with such a wonderful life! :)).

  2. I’ll add my eyes to the one above ;-}

    How about Michah 6:8 ‘He has showed you, O man, what is good. And wha does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.’

    That just about sums up the walk with Christ doesn’t it? Love the Lord and love your neighbor. What else do I set aside as my favorite? Out of my guitars I would have to say that my white Flying Vee is my favorite. It is in the process of getting its neck replaced (well, for about a year now) but soon it will be as good as new. Oh, and I really like my Freud router with the above-table adjustment knob.

  3. Pastor Warren – i’m still trying to walk before God … as the Spirit allows I will walk humbly! Reminds me of Enoch .. “He walked with God”. How I would have loved to walk as Enoch walked.

    White Flying Vee – wow. I didn’t picture you as a rocker!

  4. Not sure if you’d include my blog but it’s pretty much simply straight Bible verses with a short commentary.

  5. roopster – I’m not sure about your blog mate! I honesty don’t know you are a seeker searching for truth, a skeptic with an axe to grind or a fool with a PC and too much time! Help me out!

  6. 🙂 Actually, I believe that the Bible (especially the O.T.) does not accurately describe God. There’s just no way that God ordered a man to be killed for gathering wood on the Sabbath or encouraged the slaughter of women and children. My goal is to make that point. As Christians, we simply ignore these verses (I know I did for many years) so my goal is to force us to think about these things. Is God really “jealous and proud of it; a petty, unjust, unforgiving control-freak; a vindictive, bloodthirsty ethnic cleanser; a misogynistic, homophobic, racist, infanticidal, genocidal, filicidal, pestilential, megalomaniacal, sadomasochistic, capriciously malevolent bully” as Richard Dawkins said or should we view the O.T. as a specific culture’s view of God and they may have used him to justify their actions?

  7. I think that you have a basic misunderstanding of the nature of God and the nature of the Bible. For example, you talk about God being a jealous God and how that in Galations that is forbidden. It is important that we understand what jealous means in context. How it used in Exodus 20:5, for example, to describe God is different from how it is used to describe the sin of jealousy (as in Galatians 5:20). The sin of jealousy is in the sense of being envious of someone who has something we don’t have. My next door neighbours Ferrai or my friends musical ability for example. But when the OT talks about God’s jealousy it is talking about Him being jealous if someone gives something that belongs to Him to another. It is talking about making idols and bowing down and worshiping them rather than God who deserves ALONE to be worshipped. The worship belongs to God.

    It is a sin when we desire someone because they have something that we do not have. It is a different use of the word jealous when God says He is jealous. What He is jealous for belongs to Him in the first place.

  8. same,

    I noticed you removed the link to the blog. I’m always fascinated when we pretend these verses are NOT in the Bible.

    2 Timothy 3:16 states “All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness.”

    My “Personal Commentaries” are normally simply questions about the posted passage but the bulk of the blog are 100% Bible verses.

    Why do we hide from dealing w/these verses and the questions they raise?

    These are valid questions we have to ask ourselves. I’m not sure if you read atheist’s blogs but they use these scriptures daily to prove their points. As long as we continue to ignore them, we do not have answers. I’m actually hoping that the discussions on the blog serves as a resource to folks looking for answers on these scriptures.

    BTW, here’s one of my blogs that will be ok to leave the link up: http://roopster.blogspot.com

    Paul

  9. My issue isn’t with the whole Bible – for your info I belong to a group of churches that systematically teache on every verse in the Bible. I don’t have a problem with the fact that ALL Scripture is given by inspiration … etc. What I don’t appreciate is the way Scripture is sometimes presented as a falsehood. I’m sure that you don’t mean it this way but it comes across as being fuel for the atheists fire. It doesn’t provide any answers and doesn’t encourage debate.

  10. I come over as often as time permits. Good to see that you have some good Bible teachers in your sidebar. I watched some of Jacob Prasch, but my connection was to slow.

    You can find some other good streaming video at radiofreechurch.com

    Not all of the speakers agree on every point, but they agree on the fundamentals of the faith. The inerrant Word of God for starters.

    V

Leave a Reply

