Home

Whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God” (1 Corinthians 10:31).

How do we glorify God? It’s an important question. Paul says that whatever we do we should be doing it so that God gets the glory. The Westminster Catechism states that the chief end of man (his most important priority) is to glorify God and to enjoy him forever. So how do I glorify God? Well, take a look at the verse above. In our English language we don’t fully appreciate that word “glory” – it is the Greek word doxa. It means praise according to the reputation in which one is held. In other words, when Paul said do all to the glory of God, he was saying “give to Him, according to His reputation”. Our worship and praise and thanks to Him should be tied to, and linked with, what we know of Him (his reputation). It is not just frivolous praise, it is rooted in what we know of God through our experiences with God.

Then Moses said to the Lord, “See, You say to me, ‘Bring up this people.’ But You have not let me know whom You will send with me. Yet You have said, ‘I know you by name, and you have also found grace in My sight.’ Now therefore, I pray, if I have found grace in Your sight, show me now Your way, that I may know You and that I may find grace in Your sight. Three things that Moses asks for

1. Show me your way

2. Let me know you

3. May I find grace

Let me know you, Moses says. Not just to know more about you but to know you. The Israelites knew the way of the Lord. He had appeared to them as a pillar of cloud and fire, He had parted the Read Sea and rained down manna from heaven. But Moses wanted a deeper and more meaningful relationship than that, he wanted to know God. My prayer is that I would know God. That I would go beyond the blessings and the miraculous events of my life and seek the Lord while He may be found.

This is how we glorify God, by knowing Him.

Leave a Reply

