Home

Then Jesus went out and departed from the temple, and His disciples came up to show Him the buildings of the temple. “Do you not see all these things? Assuredly, I say to you, not one stone shall be left here upon another, that shall not be thrown down.”

According to Josephus, these stones were huge. Some weighed up to 120 tons. Some were 50 ft long and 20 ft wide, 16ft thick. When the sun shone on the temple you couldn’t look at it for all the gold in the roof. The stones were made to a perfect fit. In fact they were made so perfect they didn’t need cement to hold them together. They were made in a quarry about 2 miles from Jerusalem and then transported to the temple area. I bring this up for this reason: Peter said that we are living stones bring built to make a spiritual house (1 Peter 2:4). Soon, we are all going to fit together perfectly, but in the mean time, You and I are in the quarry being shaped.

Certainly sometimes I have days that I feel like I’ve been in that quarry, where there is hammering and chiseling. I’ve had bits broken off, rough patches smoothed down, parts worn down. The reason that is happening is so that I will be made perfect. I need to remember that when I’m being hammered on that it is just th Lord allowing me to be perfected so that when that great day comes there will be no more hammering and we will fit together perfectly.

Leave a Reply

