Home

… I want you to be wise in what is good, and simple concerning evil.  –  Romans 16:19

I love what John Newton, writer of the world famous hymn, Amazing Grace, said about evil: “Many have puzzled themselves about the origin of evil. I am content to observe that there is evil, and that there is a way to escape from it, and with this I begin and end”.

The Bible declares that all have sinned and fallen short of God’s standard. You can choose whether or not you believe that statement but I’d challenge you to try and go without sinning for a day. Just one day. God’s standard, by the way, is the 10 Commandments. Let’s start with this one shall we?

“You shall have no other gods before me”. This means don’t put anything else before the God of the Bible. Nothing. Not even family. Are you guilty of that? I am! Thats why I need saving because the Bible also says that if I’ve broken one of the commandments I’ve broken them all.

There is evil. It is intrinsict to me as a person and I can’t escape it. I can only be delivered from it’s power over me.

8 thoughts on “Wisdom concerning Evil

  1. Yes there is evil in the world, but there is also good. In this world we find light and darkness, victory and defeat, God and Satan. Your right that there is evil and we all fail on a regular basis, but God is not a brutal taskmaster glaring down on us from on high. He is a God of love, He sent his son to die for you and me so that we would not face life without Him. There is no way any of us can follow all the laws of the old testament, we all fall short. But thats why Jesus came, not to condem us but that we might be saved thru Him. Read the end of the book we Win! You have been delivered! You have only to endure the limitations of your mortal body for but a short time more (even if He doesn’t come back in your lifetime, in the grand scheme of things it is a very short time) Anyway I just wanted to leave you a comment because though I agree somewhat with what you are saying you sound so down and defeated, I just wanted to remind you that we are victorious in Christ not defeated, we have been given life not death.

    Well got to run, May God bless you each and every day.

    The Soul Soldier (soulsoldier.blogspot.com)

  2. Jesus came to destroy evil … we must remember that!

    1Jo 3:8 he who is doing the sin, of the devil he is, because from the beginning the devil doth sin; for this was the Son of God manifested, that he may break up the works of the devil

    V

  3. Soul Soldier – I can assure you that I’m not defeated! “I know that my redeemer lives and he at last shall stand on the earth”. I am expressing the opinion that I can’t win against sin if I don’t trust only in Jesus as my Saviour. My best efforts are useless. I need more of his mercy and more of his grace. – thanks for your comment & God Bless

  4. Living Journey: “Well, labor under no mistake, sir. ‘He that committeth sin is of the devil.’ It is no use making excuses and apologies; if you are a lover of sin, you shall go where sinners go. If you, who live after this fashion, say that you have believed in the precious blood of Christ, I do not believe you, sir. If you had a true faith in that precious blood, you would hate sin. If you dare to say you are trusting in the atonement while you live in sin, you lie, sir; you do not trust in the atonement; for where there is a real faith in the atoning sacrifice, it purifies the man, and makes him hate the sin which shed the Redeemer’s blood.” (Spurgeon)

  5. This is a great discussion! I agree with you all, how God has come to redeem us and there is no other name given among men where by we MUST be saved! However, Jesus Christ came to fulfill the law of the old testament we can never no matter how hard we try live up to all 613 commandments of the old testament. Like using two different kinds of thread based in clothing or offering sacrifices and observing all the feasts. We are not held to the commandments of the old testament, because that was the old covenant under the Mosaic law. Christ came to fulfill that law and bring us a new covenant, a covenant of love, not of distruction. Yes, I agree we do win! But it’s through the new covenant that we do so. We are no longer bond by or to the old law. Thank God. I just thought I’d interject with that little tidbit of info.
    By the way I’m new to wordpress, so if I have crossed any boundaries please forgive me. I do enjoy good theological discussions and sometimes I may be over zealous, because I don’t get them as often as I’d like. Please know that I have made no assumptions, just thought I’d bring that up about the old testament because it was talked about. May the Lord God Almighty bless and keep you through out the new year!

Leave a Reply

