Home

Matthew 21:6 So the disciples went and did as Jesus commanded them.

John, in John 12, is honest and admits that His disciples did not understand these things at first; but when Jesus was glorified, then they remembered that these things were written about Him and that they had done these things to Him.

They didn’t understand about the triumphant entry, the donkey and the palm branches at first but after Jesus had risen from the dead and had ascended they realized what happened. There is a marvellous lesson in these verses.

Here are the disciples doing what Jesus was telling them to do even though they didn’t know why they were doing it. They saw what He was doing but to them it had no meaning, they were, perhaps confused. That was, of course, until He was glorified.

Sometimes, I confess, the scriptures make no sense to me! I wonder and ask “Lord, why this here? What is the purpose of this situation?” Why are you asking me to do this thing?” And I get confused as I cry out “I don’t understand it, I don’t get it”.

Well I have learnt – and am still learning – I have to just do it. I just have to reading and keep doing what it says. I have to keep studying and keep praying for revelation because I realise that I am still growing in the faith and as I mature Jesus is more glorified in my life. As I mature I will have a greater understanding of the scriptures.

CS Lewis said : A man can accept what Christ has done without knowing how it works; indeed, he certainly won’t know how it works until he’s accepted it.

I have to remember to not worry about the things I don’t understand right now – just obey what I DO know! I know clearly that I am to love my wife as Christ loved the church – I understand that – but I do not fully understand the depths of Christs love for the church – so I have to love my wife as best I can as I do it the Lord will be more glorified in my life because of my obedience.

One thought on “Obeying God

Leave a Reply

