Home

my thought for today comes from Matthew 8 where Jesus is approached by a scribe who is seeking to be a disciple. The scribe says to Jesus, “I’ll follow you where ever you go”, Jesus replies: Foxes have holes and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay His head.

I was wondering as to the meaning of this phrase from Jesus. Is really Jesus asking for a place to stay the night or is there something else going on? I’m inclined to think that Jesus is challenging the scribe to live the life rather than talk the talk. I mean, this scribe is a professional religious lawyer who knows all the right things to do and say in public and Jesus says to him: take me home. hmmm. I think that’s neat – Jesus’ challenge for me is not only to be who I am in church and around my Christian friends but can I take Him home. Can I be a disciple when nobody is looking?

Paul wrote to the church at Colossi and said whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance; for you serve the Lord Christ.

Leave a Reply

