Home

Genesis 10:26-29 reads: Joktan begot Almodad, Sheleph, Hazarmaveth, Jerah, Hadoram, Uzal, Diklah, Obal, Abimael, Sheba, Ophir, Havilah, and Jobab. All these were the sons of Joktan.

I’m fairly good with people’s names. I also fairly good at people’s faces. My trouble is putting the two together at the right time. I’m not good at keeping track of whose name belongs to whose face. But you know one of the neat things for me to remember is that as we read strings and strings of people’s names in the Bible none of these people have been lost track of by God.

I’ll be honestt: I have often skipped over whole sections of the Bible to avoid people’s names, but I’m reminded that with a person’s name is a persons identity … it’s the fundamental of a person’s character. And one of the most encouraging things that I know is that even though I may lose track of people – God doesn’t.

He knows exactly who is who, who their parents are, who their children are. He knows their upbringing. He knows their situation because He is the God that sees our situations and has intervened in our situation.

So don’t lose heart because God is out there, He knows your situation and you won’t get lost!

Leave a Reply

